For immediate help call
Sex Crimes are extremely serious. In some cases, you could face life in prison. All sex cases can require you to register as a sex offender. DwaneCates.Com has extensive experience in handling these cases. While based in Phoenix, Arizona Criminal Attorney Dwane Cates can represent you in every Court in the State Arizona. To successfully defend a sex crime case, you need an attorney who has extensive experience in these types of cases. Dwane Cates has the relationships with experienced investigators, mitigation specialists, forensic psychologists, forensic computer examiners and other experts essential to successfully handling your case. In order for an attorney to be qualified to handle these types of cases they need to have recognized experts who are equipped and ready to go on your case. Sex cases are as complicated, often more complicated than homicide cases. In Maricopa County there is an entire prosecution bureau dedicated to solely handling sex crimes. That is all they do. You need a Phoenix Sex Crime Lawyer to protect your rights and your freedom. In some cases, you could be facing life in prison.
The attorney you hire can make a big difference in how your case turns out. Any attorney can claim to handle sex cases, but it’s imperative that you make sure the attorney you hire has verifiable trial experience in this specific area of the law. Your freedom is at stake. Dwane Cates is a Certified Specialist in Criminal Law, meaning that the State Bar of Arizona verified his trial experience and actually interviewed the judges that presided over his trials.
If you are charged with a sex crime anywhere in Arizona, call Dwane Cates at 480-620-8568.
A person gets charged with Child Molestation when they intentionally have sexual contact with a child under the age of fifteen. These cases by nature are classified as Dangerous Crimes Against Children and the punishments can be quite harsh, carrying mandatory prison sentences. A conviction for this crime requires sex offender registration.
This is different from Child Molestation. Sexual conduct with a minor requires the person to have sexual intercourse or oral sexual conduct with a minor under eighteen years of age. There are different levels of this crime. If the victim is 16 or 17 it is considered a Class Six Felony and probation is available. If the victim is under 15 years of age, it is considered a dangerous crime against children and carries mandatory prison time. If the victim is 12 or under it carries life in prison. Any conviction requires sex offender registration.
Possession of Child Pornography is one of the most serious crimes in Arizona. You could be charged with this crime if you are in possession of a visual depiction of a person under 18 who is in a sexually provocative pose or in a sexual act. The picture can be on paper, electronic or in any form. You can be charged for duplicating or transmitting a visual depiction. If your child is under 18 years old and takes a naked picture of themselves and sends it to a friend, they are guilty under this statute. The friend they sent it too, is now in possession child pornography. In State Court they can be charged with up to 10 counts, one for each picture. They choose pictures, if they can find them, that are of clearly very young children. If you lose at trial and get convicted of all 10 counts, you will spend a minimum of 100 years in prison. Because of this, most of these cases plead out between 10-17 years in prison. Sex offender registration is mandatory for possession of child pornography.
A charge of Public Sexual Indecency results when a person engages in a variety of sex acts in the presence of another person and is reckless whether the other person, as a reasonable person, would be offended or alarmed by the act.
A person commits indecent exposure if he/she exposes his/her genitals or anus or she exposes the areola or nipple of her breast or breasts and another person is present, and the defendant is reckless about whether the other person, as a reasonable person, would be offended or alarmed by the act. If you are convicted of any crime charged under the Arizona Sex Crime statutes, you could be required to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. Your name would be placed on a searchable sex offender list, and they could notify your neighbors about the specifics of your conviction. Many sex crimes carry mandatory sex offender registration under A.R.S. 13-3821.